Author Topic: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...  (Read 132 times)

Kasferatu

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Cookies: 2
    • View Profile
Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« on: August 16, 2019, 09:17:55 AM »
I'm not part of any good tech communities, so not really sure where I should ask this.  Curious if anyone else does?

I've got a new PC and overall its running great, but for some reason the RAM is running way below expectations.  XMP is enabled in the BIOS so not sure what else I could do.

This is my benchmark results: https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/19334921

Sssith

  • THAC0: 16
  • *
  • Posts: 1001
  • Cookies: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2019, 09:43:39 AM »
Interesting.  I have never tried that.  But I don't really have any advice on how to approach this issue.

maxbeedo

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 213
  • Cookies: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2019, 06:16:00 PM »
Some possibilities:
Your motherboard doesn't support the RAM speed or the specific RAM sticks you have.  Based on what I pulled up from the support list for the Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite, they don't support your specific Kingston sticks (max for any Kingston brand was 2666mhz), so it could be throttling them.
The RAM sticks could be dual-channeled but aren't in the right slots for it (probably needs to be 1st/3rd or 2nd/4th).

Kasferatu

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Cookies: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2019, 02:55:35 PM »
Thanks Max, I checked the RAM sticks, they are in the 2nd and 4th so that shouldn't be a problem.

Based on your other comment I looked at the support list here: http://download.gigabyte.eu/FileList/Memory/mb_memory_x570-aorus-elite_matisse.pdf. I believe my RAM is HX432C18FB2/8 so according to that list it should be fine if I understand it correctly.  I went into the BIOS again and it appears as DDR4-3200 18-21-21-39-74-1.2V, but RAM timings are totally beyond me.


maxbeedo

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 213
  • Cookies: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2019, 03:42:27 PM »
According to the link you gave, your RAM is showing up as KHX3200C18D4/8G, which is not on their list, although I'm not sure if they're exactly the same RAM stick or not.  The pictures look the same, but HX432C18FB2/8 does not show up on most benchmark sites, so I don't know if that's just what Kingston calls it, or if they're basically the same stick but came out at different times with different labels or what. 

Also make sure in the BIOS that the motherboard is auto-detecting the RAM voltage as 1.2, and not 1.35.

Kasferatu

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Cookies: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Have a new PC, RAM seems to be low performing...
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2019, 04:46:09 PM »
I fired up CPU-Z and it is also showing the RAM as KHX3200C18D4/8G but I just can't find anywhere you can buy that number - so I think you are probably right.

RAM voltage is correctly 1.2.  Maybe I just shouldn't worry about it!