Author Topic: So I fired up D2 again  (Read 1680 times)

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
So I fired up D2 again
« on: January 18, 2018, 07:55:31 PM »
No idea how long it will last, but right now I'm having fun goofing around in 1.07 with a sorc. Hopefully I'll get to run some racks eventually.  :P

Anyone remember much about 1.07?

I'd love to run some 1.09 and 1.10 (at least) if I can find a good version switcher. Need to track down some sort of ATMA, too.

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2018, 12:24:39 AM »
Gg Dave.

Some faqs around. Cold mastery breaks immunity. Static field doesnít stop!  Full purple bug. No min level for the ancients reward!

mn4nu

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 06:42:49 AM »
OMG!

Sssith

  • THAC0: 18
  • *
  • Posts: 434
  • Cookies: 13
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 04:31:13 PM »
Sounds good.  Maybe you will finally finish off that HC Trapper that you were too scared to continue.

:P

TheNix

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Cookies: 1
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2018, 04:47:00 PM »
If you don't mind some cheese, there is a bugged crafting formula in 1.07 that can give you up to 35 mana points per kill (MPK bug).

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2018, 02:22:51 PM »
Sounds good.  Maybe you will finally finish off that HC Trapper that you were too scared to continue.

:P

She got lonely after the rest of you louts got yourselves killed off.  :P

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2018, 02:26:47 PM »
My might sorc Tempest is now level 10 and is working her way through the Jail in act 1. I really need the cube to help cut down on my overflowing stash!

Does anyone have a link to ATMA? And does it work in 1.07?

I finally got the version switcher fired up, but I'm going to try to hang in 1.07 for awhile.

TheNix

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Cookies: 1
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2018, 04:21:06 PM »
ATMA works with 1.07, but IIRC crafted items will cause major problems with it.

http://atma.incgamers.com/


Sssith

  • THAC0: 18
  • *
  • Posts: 434
  • Cookies: 13
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2018, 05:20:33 PM »
Impressive that it is still available and works on W10.  I am assuming it does.  Not sure I would want to install the version of .Net that it needs.

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2018, 07:57:06 AM »
Thanks for the ATMA info! Andariel is dead and I have now made my way into act 2.

Which merc would you recommend for my sorc? I'm thinking Act 2 defensive, but I'd definitely love to hear some opinions.

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2018, 07:17:55 PM »
I switched my merc for an Act 2 defensive merc.

I finally rescued the Horadric Cube and dispatched Duriel (after dying many many times!) and have made my way to act 3. I believe I'm level 20 or 21, and so far the only legendary or set item I have found is the Arctic Belt.

Runes have thankfully started appearing, and I look forward to hopefully making a runeword or two before too terribly long.

Is it  safe to assume that once you socket an item with something, there is no way to retrieve the gem/jewel/rune? I think so, but I'm not positive.

Onward!

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2018, 10:53:30 PM »
This ainít d3 mate!

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2018, 05:57:32 AM »
The Flayer Dungeon proved to be quite challenging and I died far too many times. My tireless mercenary Razan is a killing machine, but sadly he is incapable of walking in a straight line and gets distracted at every possible opportunity.

Onward to Lower Kurast!

dave in the basement

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2018, 07:16:49 AM »
ATMA works with 1.07, but IIRC crafted items will cause major problems with it.

http://atma.incgamers.com/

Any idea which version of ATMA I should use with 1.07?

GalaXyHaXz

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: So I fired up D2 again
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2018, 09:32:18 AM »
Don't forget about rings with 35% LL!  :D

Hey, I made an update to ATMA and I recommend you use that. It fixes compatibility with 1.13. Also, if you are serious about 1.07, don't forget the updated drop calculator as well. ATMA's drop calc for 1.07-1.08 was full of bugs but most are fixed now.