Author Topic: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?  (Read 332 times)

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« on: June 09, 2017, 04:40:06 PM »
No, not replacing the PC itself.  I get that.  Done that too many times, but it's time to do it again.  What I'm most concerned about is how Diablo III will work.

Obviously, it was originally installed from CDs (or DVDs or whatever it was -- I don't remember now).  Presumably, I'll need to find those discs.  I have no idea where they are.

If I find them, I can just reinstall everything, and I'm good to go, right?

If I don't find them, I buy new ones.  Install them using the new CD keys, etc.

Either way, once D3 is installed... I log onto Battle.net using the same username/password as before, and all my characters are there, right?


One minor PC-related question.  Before I could run D3, I had to get a new graphics card, because my PC is Windows XP from 2007.  That's the PC that's currently dying.  Do newer PCs (presuming decent "consumer-grade" PC) come with the required graphics power to run D3, or do I need another graphics card?  Or can I (maybe) pull the one out of the XP machine and install it in the new one?

My wife is concerned about losing all of our documents, pictures, etc.  Those are backed up.  I'm worried about whether the new machine will play Diablo III.

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 06:24:53 AM »
I think these days you log into battle.net, and can just digitally download your copy.  Discs are old school tech

Godji

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Cookies: 1
  • Hatter than the Hat Madder
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2017, 12:20:52 PM »
WHat Tim said. You can download from blizzard's site the Battle Net client. Install it, log in. It will recognize which games you're entitled to, and you will have the option to install and download Diablo III directly from the Battle Net application.

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2017, 02:25:53 PM »
I'm so old.  We went and picked up a new PC last night, and there are no drives on it.  I figured at least for "legacy" purposes... but no.  I still occasionally rip CDs and burn DVDs and stuff, so I asked how much it would take to add a burner (mini tower, it's got slots) and it was less than $100, but they were all out.  There's no demand, no real push to get more in.

So I gotta set the thing up still, but I'll take you guys' word for it, since apparently that's how it's done these days.  This should be interesting.

Ray Patean

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Cookies: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2017, 03:37:15 PM »
You can get an external/USB powered DVD drive for quite cheap. Amazon has them for under $30, and they work great. I got one for my dad last Christmas, and he's been happy with it.

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2017, 04:25:57 PM »
i've used an external drive at work for laptops, it works fine

hurtlocker

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Cookies: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2017, 06:37:46 PM »
I just replaced my PC too, all you do is log into battle net, it starts the download automatically.

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2017, 01:48:43 PM »
It wasn't quite that simple, but I got it to go.  First I downloaded the Blizzard app (which I figured was required, but I guess not), then once I opened that and logged in I figured the downloading would start automatically.  I'd installed Starcraft II years ago but never play it, so I was ready to just cancel that one if it started, but nothing happened.

So I opened Games and clicked on Diablo III and it started downloading.  Had to convince Windows Firewall that D3 was safe, but other than that, it's groovy.  Also, it might be my imagination, but I think the graphics look better now, too.  I don't know jack about that kind of thing, but all I can figure is that the crappy video card I installed on the old machine (had to run D3 but still work on an '07 Pentium) is still nothing compared to what comes standard these days.  That's cool, though.  Got it working yesterday and I'm happy.

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2017, 03:57:46 PM »
GG Orbert! Always nice to get a new machine and see it blow the last one out of the water!

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Re: Gotta replace the PC, how will this work?
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2017, 11:15:09 AM »
Yeah, I'm pleased.  I remember when Alienware first came out, they were considered (by some at least) the best gaming machines out there.  I wasn't after a gaming machine, and I don't think I actually bought one, but that's what I have now, so... cool.  Except now I find out that it's just a Dell in different clothing.  Half the documentation says Alienware on it, the rest says Dell.