Author Topic: The startup screens are just getting silly now  (Read 242 times)

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
The startup screens are just getting silly now
« on: June 06, 2017, 01:05:35 PM »
How can this not be fixed by now?

Roughly half the time I start up Diablo 3, it loads up, connects, and eventually I see the character I last played.  One click and I've started a game.

Sometimes, before it gets to that point, it has to tell me that A New Season Has Started!  New rewards, new achievements!  Seriously?

Sometimes, it tells me all about the latest patch, with the Armory and stuff, because I've never heard about any of this!  Come on, Blizz.  Really.

Recently, yet another variation has started cropping up (for me anyway).  Before I've even chosen a character, it makes me choose between Campaign Mode and Adventure Mode.  Sometimes (but not always) I also choose a Difficulty level.  Then I get the Character screen, where I could conceivably change all of that anyway, or... one click and I've started a game.

It's not just broken, it seems to be getting worse.


What the fuck, Blizzard?

sam_manzanza

  • THAC0: 20
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Cookies: 6
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2017, 04:01:27 PM »
How can this not be fixed by now?

Roughly half the time I start up Diablo 3, it loads up, connects, and eventually I see the character I last played.  One click and I've started a game.

Sometimes, before it gets to that point, it has to tell me that A New Season Has Started!  New rewards, new achievements!  Seriously?

Sometimes, it tells me all about the latest patch, with the Armory and stuff, because I've never heard about any of this!  Come on, Blizz.  Really.

Recently, yet another variation has started cropping up (for me anyway).  Before I've even chosen a character, it makes me choose between Campaign Mode and Adventure Mode.  Sometimes (but not always) I also choose a Difficulty level.  Then I get the Character screen, where I could conceivably change all of that anyway, or... one click and I've started a game.

It's not just broken, it seems to be getting worse.


What the fuck, Blizzard?
Co-sign.

Irritates the tits off of me. Happened this morning and it's just like, why the fuck are you telling me this. On top of that, I get this cycle where about 50% of the time if I have been idle for a few hours, I start a game, get Code 1016'd and have to log in again. It only seems to happen when I have been idle or when I first log in. Bugs the hell outta me.

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2017, 05:27:20 PM »
Happened to me as well, only happens this season, seems stupid as. 

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2017, 07:06:14 PM »
Oh yeah, and those times when it somehow decided that I'm a brand-new player, I'm back in the General Chat channel, too.  How can they screw up the flags this badly?

syn

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 140
  • Cookies: 7
  • aka Salem
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2017, 07:46:27 PM »
but if you weren't in general chat you'd miss out on questions like, "where do i get primals" or "visit website ASDFGTFO for ****".

"I had to fire General Flynn because he lied to the Vice President and the FBI. He has pled guilty to those lies. It is a shame because his actions during the transition were lawful. There was nothing to hide!"  -DJT 12/2/17.

"My lawyer wrote that tweet!!! wait, that's not better?" later on 12/2/17

Timinator

  • Global Moderator
  • THAC0: 18
  • *****
  • Posts: 329
  • Cookies: 9
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2017, 08:23:35 PM »
yep, general chat is the worst

mn4nu

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • Cookies: 7
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2017, 08:47:54 AM »
but if you weren't in general chat you'd miss out on questions like, "where do i get primals" or "visit website ASDFGTFO for ****".
LOL, very true.

I get the screens too.  They've been happening since the season started.  Can't believe Blizz hasn't fixed it.

Orbert

  • THAC0: 19
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Cookies: 113
    • View Profile
Re: The startup screens are just getting silly now
« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2017, 12:17:16 PM »
Ha ha, I got a new variation this morning.  Started D3, it connected, then I had to choose a Difficulty level.  This is all before I've actually chosen what character to play.  So I chose Torment IX, and then I got the character selection screen.  The difference is that this time, I didn't choose between Campaign and Adventure mode first.

I don't think Blizzard has any intention of fixing this at this point.  But if it's still like this when the season ends, or the next starts, it'll just become a joke and, honestly, will start getting to the point of turning me off of the game.  It just shows shitty quality control and a lack of caring to allow this to go on.