General Category > General Discussion

[Poll]Testing the water on the idea of a GO Discord

(1/5) > >>

Supermatt:
Hi all,

First things first, I am not trying to break up the community with this post or the suggestion of migrating the community to a different platform, I am just suggesting that we consider bringing it to more contemporary platform which can still serve many of our purposes but I think is better for instant communication and letting you know when other people are posting. The reason I suggest it is because my main game at the moment is Hearthstone and I engage with a community via Discord on my phone and I find with GO I forget to check back and don't get notified of posts and replies - the converse being you sit on the forum hitting F5.

Now, while I am not an expert on either Forums or Discord (and probably don't make use of all the features of either) there are key differences that come with their own Pro's and Con's:

Forums
Pros:
- each topic is discussed in its own thread
- ability to have a number of stickied posts in any channel
Cons:
- less portable than Discord
- doesn't send instant notifications
- (I believe cost and back-end maintenance may be more)

Discord
Pros:
- portable, can be used on phone/tablet, pc app, pc browser
- sends notifications for subscribed channels
- you can choose which channels notify you
- you can post images without having to host on a 3rd-party site
Cons:
- no individual threads for discussions within a channel
- not as easy to search for legacy posts
- only one sticky per channel, but you can create limited access or non-chat channels for useful links or posts

A GO Discord would look like this:
https://imgur.com/a/bRaS8gd

Let me know your thoughts via the poll or reply.

Love to you all <3

I hope you're staying safe.

Matt

PS. If you have anything else to add to the Pros/Cons let me know and I'll edit the post - I'm not trying to hide anything :-)